Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Full List of Candidates For Kogi State 2023 Governorship Election

The independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has approved the final list of candidates for the governorship elections scheduled to hold in Kogi State on Saturday, November 11, 2023.

The final list was uploaded to INEC’s website and social media platforms ahead of the statutory deadline of June 9, 2023.

Candidates List For the 2023 Kogi governorship Election is as follows:

ACCORD Party (A)
Governor: Jibrin Usman Oyibe
Deputy: Olamife Raphael

Action Alliance (AA)
Governor: Braimoh Olayinka Adenehon
Deputy: Tijani Yahaya Imam

African Action Congress (AAC)
Governor: Achumugu Augustine Abu
Deputy: Bamidele Oladeji Victor

African Democratic Congress (ADC)
Governor: Abejide Leke Joseph
Deputy: Omeide Idris

Action Democratic Party (ADP)
Governor: Elukpo Julius
Deputy: Adaava Abdulllahi

All Progressives Congress (APC)
Governor: Ahmed Usman Ododo
Deputy: Salifu Joel

All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)
Governor: Ilonah Idoko Kingsley
Deputy: Nweke Benjamin Ikechukwu

Allied Peoples’ Movement (APM)
Governor: Isah Dauda Utenwojo
Deputy: Ologe John Kola

The All People’s Party (APP)
Governor: Onaji Sunda Frank
Deputy: Kekere Rahanatu

Boot Party (BP)
Governor: Muhammad Kabir Umar
Deputy: Eleojo Victoria

Labour Party (LP)
Governor: Okeme Adejoh
Deputy: Hamza Muhammed

New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP)
Governor: Musa Saliu Mubarak
Deputy: Oni Felix Sunday

National Rescue Movement (NRM)
Governor: Dirisu Bala Abdulghafar
Deputy: Onoja Ernest Enemona

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)
Governor: Dino Melaye
Deputy: Muhammed Deen Habiba

Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
Governor: Dr. Abdullahi Bayawo
Deputy: Sunday Dennis Ozomata

Social Democratic Party (SDP)
Governor: Yakubu Murtala
Deputy: Adenemi Sam Ranti

Young Progressives Party (YPP)
Governor: Omale Samson Agada
Deputy: Suleiman Mohammed Siyaka

Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)
Governor: Suleiman Taiye Fatima
Deouty: Omolowo Mathew

  • 18 political parties
  • 18 governorship candidates
  • 17 male candidates
  • 1 female candidates

The above list shows that all 18 political parties are fielding candidates in Kogi State. The list also shows that one political party is fielding female candidates in the State.

The decision to release the candidate list is in line with the provision of Section 32(1) of the Electoral Act 2022 which requires the publication of the list not later than 150 days to election day i.e. Friday 9th June 2023 following the period for voluntary withdrawal and substitution of candidates by political parties under Section 31 of the Electoral Act 2022.